Ugh…no engine, but nicer people

Well, I got an email from wholesaletrains.com saying that they cannot find the engine I wanted through any of their suppliers.  So, I have asked if they can get BAC81088 or BAC81097.


From: WST [mailto:customerservice@wholesaletrains.com]
Sent: Saturday, October 06, 2007 3:45 PM
Subject: RE: Order 200715924 status?

The wire is on backorder and the BAC81493 I can not find at any of my
suppliers at this time


Sent: Saturday, October 06, 2007 4:13 PM
To: ‘WST’
Subject: RE: Order 200715924 status?

Thank you for the update. Go ahead and cancel the rest of the order and I will find another engine for the train.

Can you check to see if you can get BAC81088 (it is a backorder item also)? If not, how about BAC81097?

Thank you,
Scott


From: WST [mailto:customerservice@wholesaletrains.com]
Sent: Saturday, October 06, 2007 4:25 PM
Subject: RE: Order 200715924 status?

I did cancel that and I can get BAC81088 on 10/31

 


Sent: Saturday, October 06, 2007 4:47 PM
To: WST [mailto:customerservice@wholesaletrains.com]
Subject: RE: Order 200715924 status?

Thanks for your help! I called up your 888 number to find out what you had in stock and talked to someone that asked me to hold tight and that in about 5 days he would have more information on whether it is in the order coming at the end of the month.

The sense of urgency here is that I hand built an elevated track and am itching to put an engine on it. At the moment, I am just pushing the cars around by hand.

Can you “uncancel” the order for BAC81493 until he finds out more information?

Thanks,
Scott


So, I called them on the phone and happened to get the guy that orders the stuff.  He said that they can’t cancel an order for something like this without him being involved because these expensive engines don’t move very quickly.  He said that he had an order coming in at the end of the month that might have it in the box and to hold tight for about 5 days for him to find out the status.  He said that everything was delayed about 15 to 20 days due to the issues with lead paint from China and that it was probably sitting on a dock just waiting to be cleared.

So, I will call back in 5 days and see if they know anything new. 

Leave a Reply

