Euro versus US track?

Gees…why so many options.  I don’t remember being able to make this many choices but then again, all I had was whatever the hobby store sold.  I visited some local hobby stores to find track and trains of various scales and found that they largely only carry O, HO, and N scale.  None carry G-scale.  So, the internet is my only option.  When I ordered the cabooses, I also ordered 4 feet of track of G and O scale.  But the track was Bachmann track and it appears to be Euro track only.  So, I need to figure out the difference between the tracks.  What I have found is:

  • Euro track seems to be called narrow gage.  Aristo has 11 railroad ties per foot, and USA track has 10 railroad ties per foot.  Bachmann also has 10 railroad ties per foot of track.
  • US track seems to always have 14 railroad ties per foot of track.

I am pretty sure that I want Euro type track as it looks a bit more old fashion.  But, to make sure, I ordered a 1 foot section of solid brass Aristo Euro, Aristo US, and USA Euro track.

Leave a Reply

