Riley: An Update

Sent: Tuesday, July 03, 2007 2:37 PM
Subject: Riley


Hi! How are you guys? Hopefully all is well with you. We are all doing well. I haven’t heard from you for a while so I thought I’d check in and while doing so I’d share a funny Riley story with you. Riley is doing well. He’s a great dog and we love him to death. He’s in despair at the moment – but he’ll be okay after tonight. Ryan (our son) has been at football camp for about 10 days and Riley is just beside himself. He sits by the door to the garage and just looks out…..last night I found him on Ryan’s bed….laying with his head on the pillow…..right next to the bear Ryan sleeps with. Anyway, Ryan will be home tonight….

We had an interesting issue with Riley. He likes the taste of chipmunks. About 2 weeks ago, I opened the back door to call the dogs in. Usually he comes right in (with Casey) but he didn’t this time. He had his backside turned to me and his head was down, so I couldn’t see what he was doing. I called to him and he turned around he had the back half of a chipmunk sticking out of his mouth. The chipmunk was kicking for all he was worth (and I was worried to death that Riley was going to eat him or kill him and bring me this dead thing as a “prize”). Riley came jogging toward me and I yelled “Riley Stop!” He did, and I yelled “put that down” and he spit it out onto the edge of the patio. This poor little chipmunk hit the ground, covered in dog spit, with its hair all wet and sticking up in every direction. It looked up and Riley, looked at me and took off running like a shot! Riley just kind of looked at it….and came trotting inside….he does that kind of thing with our cat. He’ll sit and lick Harry until one side of his hair is all wet and sticking up and stiff…but he never hurts him……I guess he just likes to “taste” things……

Anyway. Thought I’d share. Are you guys still involved with HART? I hope so, it seems like such a worthwhile cause…….

Have a great 4th and a wonderful summer. Hope to hear from you soon.

Gail & Scott ###### & Family

RileyDSC01376

Leave a Reply

