Marty: Attacking Bones

Mikey stayed home today to work from home and so Marty wasn’t locked up.  Mike said that all of the dogs got along very well all day and that Bones had decided to hump Marty.  This is pretty normal for fostering in that after about a week, the male dogs start trying to establish dominance.  Marty didn’t fight back as Bones dominated him.  But, then at about 9pm I was in my office when I heard Mike yell “NO!” and I heard the dogs fighting.  I ran up stairs as fast as I could to find Mike holding Marty in the air smacking him in the face while Marty had a lock on the side of Bones’ face.  Bones was snarling but couldn’t do anything about it.  It was identical to how Riley would attack Bones and wouldn’t let go.  When we finally got Marty off of Bones, I grabbed Marty and put him in his crate.  We inspected Bones and found his right ear to be cut with about a 1 inch tear and numerous puncture wounds.

I thought that Mike was going to start crying.  I wet a towel and put it on Bones’ ear and we checked Bones over.  Mike was shaking and started to do his usual chatter about how it all took place.  This is how Mike vents.  I went downstairs and checked out Marty and there was no damage on Marty.  Mike was terribly upset and we had a brief conversation with me reminding Mike that every male dog we have taken in has had a fight with bones when establishing dominance and Remy is the only one that didn’t beat Bones up. 

Mike has a short memory and didn’t remember fights between Foreman and Bones.  But he did remember the fights with Riley and Bones.  I think Mike is really torn up about this and he is tending to Bones.  On the plus side, Bones does not appear to be in any pain and he is following Mike around as if nothing happened.  Poor old dog.  He cannot see anything, cannot hear, and now is getting attacked in his own home.  We need to stop fostering until Bones passes away.

Leave a Reply

