Kira: Please let me on the bed!

So, Sunday night was the night of the great flood in the bed.  Kira was mostly fine Monday night and just slept under the bed without much of a whimper.  She was mad at me on Tuesday morning and wouldn’t look at me or eat her breakfast until I left.  Then came Tuesday night.  At 3am I was sound asleep when I heard such a loud noise that I woke up immediately.  I sat there in bed listening for the sound again when my ears were assaulted by the sound again.  It came from right beside the bed.  I peered into the darkness of the room and saw two green glowing eyes looking straight at me.  Then I heard “thump thump thump” and recognized the sound as a tail of a dog smacking against the wall.  I reached over and it was Kira sitting on the floor by my side of the bed wanting on the bed.  I didn’t let her up.  She went around to the other side and tried to get up but was bounced off the bed by the ropes. 

I fell back asleep and then at about 4:30am, I was startled awake again by a loud noise.  I looked over and Kira was sitting beside the bed staring at me and she let out another bark.  She has a number of different barks for conveying what she wants.  A high pitched bark for wanting to go for a walk.  A medium bark for wanting food, and this very low but loud bark for when she wants you to either open something for her or move something for her.  There is the growly bark for when something is invading her territory, and the muffled bark for when she hears a strange noise in the house.  Her barks are not like “yap yap yap yap yap” like Remy.  It is a single loud BARK!  then a long pause, presumably to see if it got your attention, and then another loud BARK!  Well, I recognized this bark as the “help me, I want something” and knew she wanted on the bed.  I pet her and she put her paw on the bed but I did not relent.  She made a big sigh and went under the bed.

At 7am I woke up and Kira was under the bed.  She didn’t come out when I called her and she didn’t want to have anything to do with me.  I understand.  She has slept on the bed for 5 years and in one accident she gets kicked off the bed.  But, admittedly, it is nice to sleep on the bed without a pooch locking down the covers and without dog hair on your pillow. 

Leave a Reply

