Baths for all

I am kinda stuck at home so I decided that I would punish the dogs
by giving them all baths.  Well, all but Bones…he won’t let me handle
him.

It started off pretty innocuous.  I got out the
towels, shampoo, and cleaned off the big tub in the master bathroom.  Turned on
the heater to warm the room up and then went and got the goose neck sprayer that
we usually keep on the utility sink.  After attaching it to the faucet on the
tub, I went to the bathroom.  Not two minutes after going in the bathroom, I
hear this ripping sound.  When I got out, my good washcloth was sitting on the
bed between Foreman’s two feet with a huge hole right in the middle.  Ugh. 

Well, now I didn’t feel so bad about washing him. 

I picked
him up off the bed and carried him to the bathroom.  He put all of his legs out
to the sides like a cartoon cat and grabbed at anything that came near a foot. 
He started shaking all over and I put him in the tub.  He didn’t move other than
to shake and just looked up sadly.  The water was warm but not hot and he winced
every time I sprayed him.  I lathered him up and then rinsed.  When I was done,
he didn’t know what to do and wouldn’t get out of the tub.  I finally dried him
in the tub and lifted him back onto the rug in the bathroom.  I finished drying
him off and let him out of the room.

I had closed the
bedroom door with Kira, Remy and Foreman in the room so that they couldn’t sneak
out.  Kira has been known to zip out the doggy door when she realizes that it is
bath day.  Once outside, she will hide in the bushes or under the deck and you
pretty much have to just give up.  So, this time she was locked in the master
bedroom and no-where to be found when I had finished up with Foreman.  But,
there aren’t many places to hide and the door was still shut so a quick search
found her hiding in the back corner under the bed where I couldn’t easily reach
her.  I got her out from under the bed and carried her to the bathroom.  She
knew the drill and didn’t bother putting her feet out or wiggling.  She just
turned and put her head on my shoulder looking back into the bedroom while
giving out a deep sigh.  I put her in the tub, turned on the sprayer and she
politely stood there just waiting for it to be over with.  When done, she hopped
out of the tub on command and stood there waiting for me to pick up a towel to
dry her off.  Like a matador, all I had to do was hold up the towel and she ran
to it burying herself deep in the towel.  It didn’t take long and all was
done.

Next was Remy.  Remy seems like a smart dog but in
this case, he didn’t seem to see it coming.  He was laying in the middle of the
bed wagging his tail.  When I opened the door to let Kira out, he hopped off and
ran into the bathroom.  Great for me.  I picked him up and suddenly he realized
that this was not a good thing.  He started clawing and wiggling to try to get
free from my hold.  I put him in the tub and he immediately started to claw his
way out of the tub.  First he tried to run over me, then to my right, and then
he jumped up on the tub and cowered in the corner on the ledge above the edge of
the tub.  I had already cleaned off everything to avoid getting it wet, so this
didn’t cause any alarm.  I pulled him off the ledge and put him in the tub.  He
tried one more time and so I stepped into the tub with him and locked him
between my knees.  He gave up.  I turned on the water and he started shaking
like crazy and then started drooling like a mad dog.  I lathered him up and then
rinsed him off.  He wouldn’t look at me and he kept his lips very tight the
entire time.  Once done all I had to do was let go of him and he was out of the
tub.  I dried him off and opened the door.  Zoom…he was gone and then I heard
him hit the door to the bedroom.  I guess he thought that it would open for
him.

I cleaned up the bathroom, put the towels in the
washer, and went to my office.  The dogs followed me in the office, but Remy was
distinctively mad.  Remy is an incredibly sweet dog and it would seem that he
handles everything well.  But, I don’t remember Remy ever being so mad
before.  He hated taking a bath and now he sits in the room and turns
his back to me.  No wagging tail from Remy.  He still follows me from
room to room, but won’t look at me or come near me.  The other dogs are fine,
but poor Remy is traumatized. 

Leave a Reply

