Ouch… Riley bit me

Wow, not the best of mornings for us.  Everyone was getting along well.  I called Riley into my office and he was in here alone with me. I pet was petting on him, and without a growl, he just went nuts biting me.  Not much damage to me, but scared the crap out of me.  I grabbed him by the skuff of the neck and slapped his muzzle then put him in his crate.  While he has been pretty aggressive toward me each day and has growled a bit at me, he hadn’t launched at me before.
Mike cleaned up my wounds (he is a doctor) and the damage isn’t bad.  It hurts a lot because he bruised my arm and hand pretty bad.  He only broke the skin on my palm around my thumb.

We sent this Charlene a message summarizing this to Charlene and Amy:

Sent: Friday, February 24, 2006 8:09 AM
Subject: RE: Remy and Riley

Wow, not the best of mornings for us.  Everyone was getting along well.  I called Riley into my office and he was in here alone with me. I pet was petting on him, and without a growl, he just went nuts biting me.  Not much damage to me, but scared the crap out of me.  I grabbed him by the skuff of the neck and slapped his muzzle then put him in his crate.  While he has been pretty aggressive toward me (Scott) each day and has growled a bit at me, he hadn’t launched at me before.

I’m not sure what to do now?  Advice?  At this point in the relationship, I don’t trust him enough to pet him.  That isn’t going to work out if he already doesn’t trust me or doesn’t like me.  Is it that I am favoring Kira all the time?  He doesn’t do this with Mike.

Would it be OK to try putting a muzzle on him?

Leave a Reply

